Tequila in Mexico

Currently lying on my bed with some Jordan Rakei playing in the background. I realize that I’ve been falling behind on my blogging about my travels, so I’ll catch myself up with two new posts now. I’ve been seeking out more creative outlets, so naturally I remembered about this blog and the fact that I haven’t updated about my travels since January when I went to Colorado. I’ve been on a good number of trips out of town since January, including Pittsburgh a few times, Napa, Puerto Vallarta, Irvine, Seattle, and Portland, but many of the trips were to visit people so I’ll just write about Puerto Vallarta and Portland. Since it’s been a couple of months and I didn’t write down our itinerary anywhere, some of this may have to be written off based on memory.

Early March I went to Puerto Vallarta with a couple of friends from college and oh man it was quite the weekend. We went for a weekend that was effectively a “spring break” trip from Friday to Tuesday. We arrived in Puerto Vallarta Friday evening and ate at a nearby famous taco shop called Pancho’s. We had soo many tacos, and since we had a long day of traveling just rested back in the hotel we were staying at.

20190308_223904

On Saturday, we walked along the boardwalk and ate lunch at a Cuban restaurant. I ordered a mojito and some fish tacos, and then we bought some more food along the boardwalk (I bought a mango and one of my friends bought a coconut). Then we went to the beach and just relaxed and laid there. We also brought some beer and bought some oysters to snack on. It was so nice. After a couple hours of that, we left to go to a tequila tasting that we had booked through Airbnb experiences. It was on a rooftop in a residential neighborhood so we had quite of a hike to get there. We then tried 5 different tequilas of various aging lengths (the length of aging in barrels affected the darkness of the tequila) and then after the tasting, we had open bar for an hour with the sun setting in the background, while they made us fresh guacamole to snack on and delicious grapefruit cocktails in clay jars. After that, we rested in the hotel for a bit and got some tacos before heading out to go clubbing for the night. Since this blog is pretty public, I’m going to leave the details of that night within the circles of my friends, but hahaha let’s just say that it was quite an eventful night.

 

We really needed to recover Sunday morning so the next morning we just ate at the taqueria around the corner before heading to the beach to lie there for the rest of the day. We also played some beach volleyball 🙂 I had missed playing volleyball with my friends so that was lots of fun. After watching the sunset on the beach, we went to a nearby seafood restaurant and ordered some dishes to share.

On Monday, we woke up bright and early to go on a dolphin tour. We were brought out onto the water and we saw lots of dolphins! Unfortunately they were also a tease and kept swimming away really quickly whenever they got near our boat so it was hard to actually be able to hang out with them more but it was cool to see them nonetheless. After dolphin spotting, we were starving, so we went to an Italian restaurant near our hotel, and I ordered a delicious seafood pasta. After lunch, we went to a more secluded beach but unfortunately the beach was pretty cold and small. Nonetheless, we laid down and napped for a while before heading back and exploring a little bit more of the main city.

Tuesday was our final day, and we just got ready and headed to the airport. This was quite a brief summary of my trip to Puerto Vallarta, but yes the trip was mostly going to the beach and eating tacos, both of which I was a very big fan of. PVR was very easy to navigate, try new foods, and everything was incredibly affordable. I would definitely recommend traveling to Puerto Vallarta (just be aware of any tequila tastings hahaha)!

Leave a comment